Is there alcohol in Kombucha & is it Halal

Kombucha is not alcoholic. Yeast consumes the sugars and releases carbon dioxide which gives Kombucha its natural fizz as well as ethanol (the alcoholic compound) as a by-product of fermentation. While some ethanol remains in solution, part of it becomes fuel for the bacteria which converts it to acetic acid. Our Kombucha contains no more than 1% ABV (alcohol by volume) and is considered to be non-inebriating / non-intoxicating / non-dizzying. Moreover, Kombucha is regarded for health not intoxication and is similar to other fermented foods like kimchi, sauerkraut, yogurt etc. The amount of alcohol present is very low i.e. <1% ABV and is naturally produced by the process of fermentation, meaning we don’t purposely mix or add alcohol in it.

We regularly measure the alcohol content of our brews using a hydrometer and refractometer. Note that these readings are just an estimate only as reproducing yeast, dissolved solids and other particulates affects the liquid density which makes it difficult to obtain an accurate value. That said, we have sent samples of our Kombucha to be tested at laboratories and have found the alcohol levels to be much less than the empirical value. Thus the alcohol content of 1% ABV that we published is considered to be very conservative.

You can check online if Kombucha is safe, or otherwise this link below as well:

https://islamqa.info/en/answers/146710/does-the-alcohol-in-kombucha-tea-make-it-haraam

Updated on June 6, 2021
×